Skip to main content


Members of the BSA (ie, those who make up the board that decides complaints) are appointed by the Governor-General, on the recommendation of the Minister of Broadcasting.  There are four members: a chairperson and three others. The chairperson is required to be a barrister or solicitor.  One member is appointed after consultation with broadcasters, and another after consultation with public interest groups.

Members are responsible for the determination of complaints and for the governance of the BSA.

 LKP0167  LKP0303  Paula   Wendy Palmer

  • Peter Radich (Chair)

     LKP0167Peter is a partner in Radich Law and has been a solicitor of the High Court since 1969. He was previously the Chair of the New Zealand Law Practitioners Disciplinary Tribunal until it was disbanded in January 2009.

    He also serves as Milk Commissioner for the Fonterra Dairy Group, is District Solicitor to the Marlborough District Council and is a member of the Law Practitioners and Conveyancers Disciplinary Tribunal.

    Peter was appointed an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit in the New Year Honours List 2012 for his services to the law.  

    Peter took up the position of Chair of the BSA in January 2010. He was reappointed for a further term in December 2012.

  • Te Raumawhitu (Te Rau) Kupenga

     LKP0303Te Rau has a legal background, having worked previously as a Crown Prosecutor as well as holding senior solicitor positions at the Office of the Māori Trustee and in a commercial law firm in Wellington.

    He has worked as a television presenter and until recently was a regular panellist on a lifestyle television show.

    Te Rau is Ngāti Porou and is very involved in iwi and whānau development.

    Te Rau joined the BSA in December 2010. He was reappointed for a further term in November 2013.

  • Paula Rose

     LKP0260Paula Rose has a background in policing, having previously been National Manager of Road Policing. She was also the Deputy Chair of the independent task force reviewing workplace health and safety and has served as an executive advisor to the Minister of Social Development.

    Paula is a current member of the Online Media Standards Authority complaints committee, the New Zealand Parole Board and the St John South Island Regional Trust Board.

    In 2013 Paula was awarded a Companion to the Queen's Service Order for her contribution to policing and the community.

    Paula joined the BSA in July 2015.

  • Wendy Palmer

    Wendy PalmerWendy has a background in broadcasting, with a breadth of experience from operations management of a radio station to serving as the CEO of a large broadcaster in New Zealand. She has served as director and chair of the Auckland New Venture Trust and the Radio Bureau and as a board member of the Radio Broadcasters Association.  Wendy has established her own international market research company, for which she still serves as the executive chair. Wendy is the broadcasting sector representative and joined the BSA in January 2018.